Citizens of Kyiv

Citizens of Kyiv

date
5. July 2022 bis 31. July 2022
11:00 - 19:00
In Kalender eintragen
location
Galerie Omnius
1 Rue Vauban, 13200 Arles , France
info
Exhibition
Vernissage
Dienstag, 5. Juli, 17:00 - 20:00
info
Exhibition
Vernissage
Dienstag, 5. Juli, 17:00 - 20:00

A solo exhibition by Alexander Chekmenev

For over thirty years, Alexander Chekmenev has documented the daily lives of those whom society often ignores and excludes, those whose individual stories are stigmatized or considered too long, too hard, too complicated, hopeless. Chekmenev not only listens to these stories, he makes them visible, and builds lasting relationships with his subjects over years, thus offering various forms of support.

In Citizens of Kyiv, Chekmenev captures the courage and fighting spirit of ordinary people resisting the war in Ukraine. Chekmenev’s visual language is reminiscent of his earlier series, and, at the same time, that of the Flemish Golden Age masters. His subjects, although photographed at the most devastating time in their lives, exude a certain magnanimity, and inspire admiration. Each portrait is accompanied by personal stories, further highlighting the generosity, altruism and unity of the Ukrainian nation.

 

About the artist

Alexander Chekmenev (b. in 1969 in Luhansk, Ukraine, living in Kyiv, Ukraine) started his career as a photographer in 1988 documenting people in his hometown located in a coal mining region that was seriously affected by the collapse of the Soviet Union. His photographs of this period reflect the roughness of social and political situations of the decade and form a unique archive of Ukraine’s life.

Chekmenev portrays his sitters in a straight-out documentality, which is combined with a sincere interest towards the stories of people, and understanding of their characters and habits (e.g., projects Street people, 1994-1999; Passport, 1995). Along with that, the photographer creates series featuring the contemporary political situation in the country, showing recent events and their outcome (Euromaidan, 2014; War–Torn, 2014-2015; War in Donbass, 2014-2016; Deleted, 2018-2020; Citizens of Kyiv, 2022-ongoing).

Chekmenev’s works have been published in New York Times Lens Blog, Time Magazine and Time Light Box, New Yorker Photo Booth, MSNBC, Quartz, The Guardian, Vice Magazine, Liberation. He received a Grand Prix “Photographer of the Year of Ukraine 2013”. He is the author of Donbass (2011), Passport (2017), Lilies (2020) and Pharmakon / Ambulance (2021) photo books.

His works are widely exhibited internationally and are part of several museum collections – MOKSOP Museum in Kharkiv, “Mystetskyi Arsenal” Museum in Kyiv, Märkisches Museum in Witten and Ludwig Museum in Cologne, Germany.

 

© Photo: Alexander Chekmenev 

Citizens of Kyiv exhibition is a part of a project run by Kultur Aktiv, in cooperation with Ta(r)dino 6 Art Platform (Azerbaijan) and IZOLYATSIA Platform for Cultural Initiatives (Ukraine), funded by the Culture of Solidarity programme of the European Cultural Foundation and the Federal Agency for Civic Education.

 

 

Informiere Deine Freunde

Citizens of Kyiv

Citizens of Kyiv

date
5. Juli 2022 bis 31. Juli 2022
11:00 - 19:00
location
Galerie Omnius
1 Rue Vauban, 13200 Arles , Frankreich
info
Vernissage
Dienstag, 5. Juli, 17:00 - 20:00

Eine Einzelausstellung von Alexander Chekmenev

Seit über dreißig Jahren dokumentiert Alexander Chekmenev den Alltag derjenigen, die von der Gesellschaft oft ignoriert und ausgegrenzt werden, deren individuelle Geschichten stigmatisiert oder als zu lang, zu schwer, zu kompliziert, zu hoffnungslos angesehen werden. Chekmenev hört sich diese Geschichten nicht nur an, er macht sie sichtbar und baut über Jahre hinweg dauerhafte Beziehungen zu seinen Gesprächspartnern auf und bietet so verschiedene Formen der Unterstützung an.

In Citizens of Kyiv fängt Chekmenev den Mut und den Kampfgeist der einfachen Menschen ein, die sich dem Krieg in der Ukraine widersetzen. Chekmenev Bildsprache erinnert an seine früheren Serien und gleichzeitig an die flämischen Meister des Goldenen Zeitalters. Seine Porträtierten strahlen eine gewisse Großzügigkeit aus und erwecken Bewunderung, obwohl sie in der schlimmsten Zeit ihres Lebens fotografiert wurden. Jedes Porträt wird von einer persönlichen Geschichte begleitet, die die Großzügigkeit, den Altruismus und die Einheit des ukrainischen Volkes noch mehr hervorhebt.

Über den Fotografen

Alexander Chekmenev (geb. 1969 in Luhansk, Ukraine, lebt in Kyiv, Ukraine) begann seine Karriere als Fotograf 1988 mit der Dokumentation der Menschen in seiner Heimatstadt, die in einer Kohlebergbauregion liegt, die vom Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion schwer betroffen war. Seine Fotografien aus dieser Zeit spiegeln die raue soziale und politische Situation des Jahrzehnts wider und bilden ein einzigartiges Archiv des Lebens in der Ukraine.

Chekmenev porträtiert seine Porträtierten in einer geradlinigen Dokumentarität, die mit einem aufrichtigen Interesse an den Geschichten der Menschen und dem Verständnis für ihre Charaktere und Gewohnheiten verbunden ist (z. B. Projekte Street people, 1994-1999; Passport, 1995). Daneben schafft der Fotograf Serien, die sich mit der aktuellen politischen Situation im Land befassen und die jüngsten Ereignisse und deren Ergebnisse zeigen (Euromaidan, 2014; War-Torn, 2014-2015; War in Donbass, 2014-2016; Deleted, 2018-2020; Citizens of Kyiv, 2022-fortlaufend).

Chekmenevs Arbeiten wurden im New York Times Lens Blog, Time Magazine und Time Light Box, New Yorker Photo Booth, MSNBC, Quartz, The Guardian, Vice Magazine und Liberation veröffentlicht. Er erhielt den Grand Prix “Photographer of the Year of Ukraine 2013”. Er ist der Autor der Fotobücher Donbass (2011), Passport (2017), Lilies (2020) und Pharmakon / Ambulance (2021).

Seine Werke werden international ausgestellt und sind Teil mehrerer Museumssammlungen – MOKSOP Museum in Charkiw, “Mystetskyi Arsenal” Museum in Kiew, Märkisches Museum in Witten und Ludwig Museum in Köln, Deutschland.

 

© Foto: Alexander Chekmenev 

Die Ausstellung Citizens of Kyiv ist Teil eines Projekts von Kultur Aktiv (Deutschland) in Zusammenarbeit mit Ta(r)dino 6 Art Platform (Aserbaidschan) und IZOLYATSIA Platform for Cultural Initiatives (Ukraine), das vom Programm Culture of Solidarity der Europäischen Kulturstiftung und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung gefördert wird.