Ramin Mazur – On the Left Bank / Expansion

Ramin Mazur – On the Left Bank / Expansion

Galerie nEUROPA Exhibition
date
18. November 2022 bis 15. February 2023
10:00 - 16:00
location
Galerie nEUROPA
Bautzner Straße 49, Dresden, Germany
info
Vernissage
Friday, 18. November 2022, 20:00

Photography from Transnistria and Crimea

In a time of news overload, Moldovan photographer Ramin Mazur offers a quiet glimpse into the everyday life of European regions that would otherwise remain unseen. He focuses on the calm after the political storm. His pictures show the pausing, the taking a breath. He visualises the quiet, rather unspectacular tones, which, however, often describe life in these frozen conflict zones more aptly than dramatically pointed reporting. He portrays regions that are marked by political states of emergency and the associated loss of identity. He is not interested in clear answers, but in conveying a feeling for life on the ground.

“On the Left Bank” was created by a return trip of the photographer to his hometown Rybnitza in Transnistria, a de facto independent part of the Republic of Moldova due to Russian support. Originally, he wanted to depict the divided country and the people’s search for identity. In the process, he realised that at first he was only scratching the surface. He decided to visit his homeland more often. To document the everyday life of the people who stayed there, to find memories of his childhood and to get a feeling for the place that is losing more and more of its inhabitants.

For “Expansion”, Ramin Mazur travelled to Crimea several times in 2014, a few weeks after the Russian annexation, to get a feeling for the atmosphere on the peninsula. He paid particular attention to the Crimean Tatars, whose culture has not only shaped life in the Crimea for centuries, but which has also been repeatedly disputed by foreign rule.

Ramin Mazur is a documentary photographer. He combines a classical approach with new forms of visual language in the art of photography. Ramin Mazur lives and works as a photographer in Chisinau, the capital of the Republic of Moldova. He studied in Chisinau and New York, among other places, has been exhibited several times and repeatedly realises his own long-term documentary projects.

Courated by Matthias Schumann

 

The exhibition takes place in cooperation with n_ost.

A exhibition of Kultur Aktiv (Germany) in collaboration with Ta(r)dino 6 Art Platform (Azerbaijan) and IZOLYATSIA Platform for Cultural Initiatives (Ukraine), funded by the Culture of Solidarity program of the European Cultural Foundation and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education.

Ramin Mazur – Am linken Ufer / Ausdehnung

Ramin Mazur – Am linken Ufer / Ausdehnung

Galerie nEUROPA Ausstellung
date
18. November 2022 bis 15. Februar 2023
10:00 - 16:00
location
Galerie nEUROPA
Bautzner Straße 49, Dresden, Deutschland
info
Vernissage
Freitag, 18. November 2022, 20 Uhr

Fotografie aus Transnistrien und von der Krim

In einer Zeit der Nachrichtenflut bietet der moldauische Fotograf Ramin Mazur einen ruhigen Blick in den Alltag europäischer Regionen, die sonst ungesehen blieben. Er konzentriert sich auf die Ruhe nach dem politischen Sturm. Seine Bilder zeigen das Innehalten, das Durchatmen. Er visualisiert die leisen eher unspektakulären Töne, die aber das Leben in diesen eingefrorenen Konfliktzonen oft treffender beschreiben als eine dramatisch zugespitzte Berichterstattung. Er porträtiert Regionen, welche durch politische Ausnahmezustände und dem damit verbundenen Identitätsverlust geprägt sind. Ihm geht es nicht um klare Antworten, sondern ein Gefühl für das Leben vor Ort zu vermitteln.

„Am linken Ufer“ entstand durch die Rückkehr des Fotografen in seine Heimatstadt Rybnitza in Transnistrien, ein durch russische Unterstützung de facto unabhängiger Teil der Republik Moldau. Ursprünglich wollte er das geteilte Land und die Suche nach der Identität der Menschen darstellen. Dabei wurde ihm bewusst, dass er zuerst nur an der Oberfläche kratzte. Er beschloss öfter in seine Heimat zu fahren. Den Alltag der Menschen zu dokumentieren, die dort geblieben sind, Erinnerung an seine Kindheit wiederzufinden und ein Gefühl für den Ort zu bekommen, der immer mehr seiner Bewohner:innen verliert.

Für „Ausdehnung“ reiste Ramin Mazur 2014 wenige Wochen nach der russischen Annexion mehrmals auf die Krim, um ein Gefühl für die Stimmung auf der Halbinsel zu bekommen. Dabei galt seine besondere Aufmerksamkeit den Krimtataren, deren Kultur nicht nur seit Jahrhunderten das Leben auf der Krim geprägt hat, sondern welche ihnen auch immer wieder durch Fremdherrschaften streitig gemacht wurde.

Ramin Mazur ist ein Dokumentarfotograf. Er verbindet einen klassischen Ansatz mit neuen Formen der Bildsprache in der Kunst der Fotografie. Ramin Mazur lebt und arbeitet als Fotograf in Chisinau, der Hauptstadt der Republik Moldau. Er studierte u.a. in Chisinau und New York, ist bereits mehrfach ausgestellt worden und realisiert immer wieder eigene dokumentarische Langzeitprojekte.

Kuratiert von Matthias Schumann.

 

Die Ausstellung findet in Kooperation mit n_ost statt.

Die Ausstellung ist Teil des Projekts von Kultur Aktiv (Deutschland) in Zusammenarbeit mit Ta(r)dino 6 Art Platform (Aserbaidschan) und IZOLYATSIA Platform for Cultural Initiatives (Ukraine), das vom Programm Culture of Solidarity der Europäischen Kulturstiftung und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung gefördert wird.