Galerie nEUROPA – Youth of the North

Youth of the North Series of Alexej Pavlov (c) Foto: Alexej Pavlov

Thousands of kilometres away from Moscow, the wild sound of Yakutian punk is born in the midst of icy darkness. Here, in the largest and coldest region of Russia, where temperatures can drop to -60 degrees Celsius in winter, rockers write completely independent music.

The history of the Yunost Severa (Youth of the North) association began with self-organisation in 2009, with the members’ desire to make the music they like themselves. They do not position themselves as a label in the conventional sense. Rather, they see themselves as a group of friends united by the common goal of being creative. No more than 30 people make up the scene, and they change positions in more than a dozen bands.

Throughout their time here, bands have emerged that have become cult on the local stage, and some of them have successfully toured outside the republic. The music they write draws its inspiration from the remoteness of the region and the rich indigenous culture. Only rarely do their lyrics contain angry rants or calls for protest: Yunost Severa does not tend to make political statements. Instead, her carefree, funny or seemingly meaningless words offer a kind of liberation.

In the series on display, Aleksey Pavlov juxtaposes portraits of protagonists of the “Youth of the North” and concert photos with wintry cityscapes. It’s also worth following the links and soaking up the energy of the Youth of the North bands acoustically – hot tracks from the cold pole!

Playlist to listen to

with
Siyaniye / СИЯНИЕ (2020)
Leto Vremenno / лето временно (2016)
Drrones (2021)
Izbiyeniye Tsepiyu / избиение цепью (2015)
Imya Tvoey Bivshey / Имя твоей бывшей (2018)
Philosophia / философия (2015)
Crispy Newspaper (2020)
Katiny Slezki (2019)
OBLAKA (2019)

Alexey Pavlov

Russian photo artist Alexey Pavlov (born 1994) comes from the village of Borogontsy in the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), the coldest region of the country. He currently lives in Saint-Petersburg.

Pavlov is a graduate of the school of modern photography “Docdocdoc” in Saint-Petersburg and was a participant of the Vyksa Art Residence, the Eddie Adams Workshop and the VII Academy. He is a member of the Russian Union of Art Photographers.

In his work he focuses on the peculiarities and problems of socio-cultural interaction in the post-Soviet space. His photo series have won awards and been shortlisted for competitions such as the Sony World Photography Awards, College Photographer of the Year, PhotoVisa, World Biennial of Student Photography. With his series “Boyhood” he was shortlisted for this year’s PORTRAITS – Hellerau Photography Award.

The series” Youth of the North” is presented in the gallery nEUROPA as a satellite exhibition complementary to the series “Boyhood” shown at PORTRAITS 2021. Curation: Jan Oelker

Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien

Galerie nEUROPA – Youth of the North

Youth of the North Series of Alexej Pavlov (c) Foto: Alexej Pavlov

Tausende von Kilometern von Moskau entfernt wird der wilde Sound des jakutischen Punks inmitten eisiger Dunkelheit geboren. Hier, in der größten und kältesten Region Russlands, wo die Temperaturen im Winter bis auf -60 Grad Celsius fallen können, schreiben Rocker völlig unabhängige Musik.

Die Geschichte des Vereins Yunost Severa (Jugend des Nordens) begann mit der Selbstorganisation im Jahr 2009, mit dem Wunsch der Mitglieder, die Musik zu machen, die ihnen selbst gefällt. Sie positionieren sich nicht als Label im herkömmlichen Sinne. Vielmehr verstehen sie sich als Gruppe von Freunden, die das gemeinsame Ziel verbindet, kreativ zu sein. Nicht mehr als 30 Leute bilden die Szene, und sie wechseln die Positionen in mehr als einem Dutzend Bands.

In der gesamten Zeit entstanden hier Bands, die auf heimischer Bühne Kult wurden, einige von ihnen gingen erfolgreich außerhalb der Republik auf Tour. Die Musik, die sie schreiben, schöpft ihre Inspiration aus der Abgeschiedenheit der Region und der reichen indigenen Kultur. Nur selten enthalten ihre Texte wütende Tiraden oder Aufrufe zum Protest: Yunost Severa neigt nicht dazu, politische Statements abzugeben. Stattdessen bieten ihre unbekümmerten, lustigen oder scheinbar sinnlosen Worte eine Art der Befreiung.

In der ausgestellten Serie stellt Aleksey Pavlov Porträts von Protagonisten der „Youth of the North“ und Konzertfotos den winterlichen Stadtlandschaften gegenüber. Es lohnt sich auch den Links zu folgen und die Energie der Bands von „Youth of the North“  akustisch aufzusaugen – heiße Tracks vom Kältepol!

Playlist zum Reinhören

mit
Siyaniye / СИЯНИЕ (2020)
Leto Vremenno / лето временно (2016)
Drrones (2021)
Izbiyeniye Tsepiyu / избиение цепью (2015)
Imya Tvoey Bivshey / Имя твоей бывшей (2018)
Philosophia / философия (2015)
Crispy Newspaper (2020)
Katiny Slezki (2019)
OBLAKA (2019)

Alexey Pavlov

Der russische Fotokünstler Alexey Pavlov (geb. 1994) stammt aus dem Dorf Borogontsy in der Republik Sacha (Jakutien), der kältesten Region des Landes. Derzeit lebt er in Sankt-Petersburg.

Pavlov ist Absolvent der Schule für moderne Fotografie “Docdocdoc” in Sankt-Petersburg und war Teilnehmer der Vyksa Art Residence, des Eddie Adams Workshop und der VII Academy. Er ist Mitglied der Russischen Union der Kunstfotografen.

In seinen Arbeiten setzt er den Focus auf die Besonderheiten und Probleme der soziokulturellen Interaktion im postsowjetischen Raum. Seine Fotoserien wurden mit Preisen ausgezeichnet und kamen in die engere Wahl für Wettbewerbe wie den Sony World Photography Awards, College Photographer of the Year, PhotoVisa, World Biennial of Student Photography. Mit seiner Serie „Boyhood“ kam er in die Endauswahl des diesjährigen PORTRAITS – Hellerau Photography Award.

Die Serie” Youth of the North” wird in der Galerie nEUROPA als Satellitenausstellung ergänzend zu der auf der PORTRAITS 2021 gezeigten Serie „Boyhood“ präsentiert. Kuration: Jan Oelker

Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien